Poll: Would you be open to a brand update to the forum?
Yep.
Nope.
Yes, but not this garbage you've made, Guild.
TL;DR LOL
[Show Results]
Note: This is a public poll, other users will be able to see what you voted for.
Discussion The Forum Design Thread - Good Design is all about the Details
04-03-2015, 05:16 AM (This post was last modified: 04-03-2015 05:45 AM by Guild.)
The Forum Design Thread - Good Design is all about the Details
Hi, I'm Guild, a.k.a. Sean Freeman. I found this site through the Mafia Championships on the infamous 2+2 Poker Forums. You've sent a representative to the game and that person made a note about being from a design forum. I had to take a peek.

I'm a professional graphic designer and brand consultant. I'm 32 years old and obsessed with visual design. I attended the International Academy of Design Technology in Sacramento, California on my Navy G.I. bill in 2008, earning a B.A. in Visual Communication and an A.A. in Marketing. Now I help businesses and organizations present a stronger visual brand to their users, clients and customers.

Chocolate HeartHeartChocolate Piemspa

These icons are brand elements. They represent values you share as designers. Together with the forum header:

[Image: 8yO1BYX.png]

...they constitute your visual brand, along with things like colors and fonts used on this site, as well as content and your general 'group culture.'

I'd like to propose some slight changes to your brand. The largest problem imho is that your header image is optimized for cellphones, so it's stretched, showing bad anti-aliasing and large pixels on computer monitors. This is easily fixed by optimizing the image for web at a slightly larger size, so that the file is still very small and loads quickly but has crisp detail on any device. I chose a more semiotically 'chocolate' looking font than the sans serif ballpoint one currently used:

[Image: chocolatepiheader.png]